Home > The Beginning > Got here!

Got here!

This is what greeting me when I arrived at the Cuenca airport on Thursday afternoon.

ImageMy landlady, Martha met me with a taxi and we made the short drive downtown. I was gawking all the way.

My studio apartment is on the 8th floor of the Edificio Alfa, which is two blocks from the center of town, the Parca Calderon. A bank is in the basement, so there’s an armed guard (often with a machine gun) on station most of the time.

To get to my place, I get into an elevator, ascendImage

seven floors and open a gate. Then, I walk down a parquet hallway and open another door. Next, is a one-flight stairway and another door to a foyer. Then the lock to my place. All of this requires an impressive key collection.

The place is tiny and that suits me just fine. It’s just one room, with bed and kitchen stuff, plus a bathroom. The most stunning feature is the view. Below you have it from  left-to-right.

ImageImageImage

So far, I’ve just strolled within 4-5 blocks of my place. The architecture in this colonial area is quite something. Here are some examples; I don’t yet know details of the buildings.

 

 

Image

 

ImageImageImageImageImage

More to come!

Categories: The Beginning
  1. Darren
    September 8, 2012 at 10:58 am

    I had a very Spanish Colonial look to it. Very European. Look forward to hearing/seeing more, Frank!!

  2. September 8, 2012 at 11:06 am

    Looking forward to the guided tour!

  3. Ken
    September 8, 2012 at 12:04 pm

    From what I had read about Cuenca, I was expecting a much smaller town. And I like the Colonial architecture. Looks like you’ve gotten yourself a nice new home for a while! Hopefully, we’ll get to see for ourselves sometime in 2013. 😉

  4. September 8, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    Congratulations! Cuenca is a lovely city, and you’re doing a great job of capturing her essence! Great post! Enjoy exploring the area! Z

  5. Linda Santa Cruz
    September 9, 2012 at 9:22 am

    Nice! Good to know there is always Plan B! This looks like a fine adventure! Take care.

    • September 9, 2012 at 9:53 am

      Thank you sweets. How you be? Where you be? News from Puerto Angel?

  6. December 30, 2012 at 8:52 am

    Looks like pictures generate comments. I will need to remember that on my blog… Great tour Frank… Keep it up and let us all know just exactly what you are experiencing.. whether it is good or bad…. George

    • December 30, 2012 at 8:54 am

      Thanks. For a while, I couldn’t access my blog. I just got back on and will be posting again soon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

