Home > The Beginning > I Bit The Bullet

I Bit The Bullet

My long-time friend and colleague, Bill, in Charleston, SC, noted that I occasionally like to jump off the cliff. He’s correct. Several years ago, I went to Oaxaca, Mexico, not knowing anyone there. I wound up spending three years there.

Now, I’ve jumped off yet another cliff. This time I’m heading for South America, Ecuador, to be specific. Cuenca, to be even more specific.

I few days ago, I bought the airline tickets. First, I fly to Charleston in late August to spend a few days with my daughters, grandchildren and, of course, Bill. Sept. 5, I head further south, flying first to Quito for an overnight stay, then on to Cuenca the next morning. 

I know nothing of the place, other than what I’ve read on the Net, and that sounds pretty damn good.

I’ve been in Flagstaff, AZ, for almost two years. If one needs to be someplace to recover from aortic surgery and having one’s teeth replaced with plastic, it’s a pretty good place to be. A lot of this has to do with sister Nancy, who has been wonderfully supportive all the way.

Now, it’s time to move on again. I’ve been in the Andes before, in Bolivia, and really enjoyed the culture.

So, off we go.

 

 

Categories: The Beginning
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

